Why I’m Constantly Dazzled By KDE: Klipper

I can’t believe this. Every time I think I know a lot about my favorite Desktop Environment it gets better. When you run Klipper, the KDE clipboard tool, you can specify an option – accessible from its system tray icon, called “Synchronize Clipboard Contents With Selection”, and what this wonderful option does it make it so that wherever you are in KDE, when you select some text, it automatically copies over to the clipboard. That’s it. One option is all it takes to save countless right-click->Copy operations. I haven’t tried it out with images yet, but I rarely copy images to the clipboard – mostly I just save them and open them.

I highly recommend, even if you think you know KDE like the back of your hand, to explore the options available to you. Chances are you’ll find some astounding things.

Yet Another Linux Blog has a great entry about more of Klipper’s features, including the ability to automatically run certain commands when you select text, based on the contents of that text!

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 11, 2006 at 8:58 am | Permalink

    I select text all the time in web browsers just to make it more readable, or select bits of text in text editors to delete it, not to mention all the things I select accidentally. This seems like a misfeature, just like X’s clipboard is.

  2. Posted August 11, 2006 at 9:20 am | Permalink

    Andrew:
    That’s fine, Klipper keeps a history of what’s been in your clipboard buffer. If you accidentally select something you didn’t want to, you can go back and revert the contents of the clipboard. I’ve just found out about the feature so I’m still seeing if it works for me, but I think it’s interesting overall that this functionality exists.

  3. chesss
    Posted October 31, 2006 at 5:57 pm | Permalink

    klipper doesn’t even pastes after selecting from the menu, which makes it really sucky

  4. Posted January 15, 2007 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    Nice article, seems like you are a fashionista just like myself


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

